Why Is EventHandler in Controller Null?

Apr 1, 2009 at 3:46 PM
I have a page (master/page scenario) with multiple user controls on it.  One control contains a treeview that when selected needs to cause a refresh of a grid in another user control on the page.    When the user control containing the treeview has a node selection made, I raise an event in the view for the presenter to catch:

protected void RadTreeView1_NodeClick(object sender, RadTreeNodeEventArgs e)
        {
            if (NodeSelectionChanged != null)
            {
                CommandEventArgs ev = new CommandEventArgs(e.Node.Value, null);
                NodeSelectionChanged(this, ev);
            }
        }

The presenter catches it correctly and calls a method in the controller to set a property and then raise another event that the presenter for the grid user control will respond to:

public override void OnViewLoaded()
        {
            // Implement code that will be executed every time the view loads
            View.NodeSelectionChanged += new CommandEventHandler(View_NodeSelectionChanged);
        }

void View_NodeSelectionChanged(object sender, CommandEventArgs e)
        {
            _controller.SetSelectedNode(Convert.ToInt32(e.CommandName));
        }

That controller code looks like this:

public void SetSelectedNode(int iNodeId)
        {
            CurrentUser.SelectedNode = iNodeId;
            //now raise event that brochure grid will subscribe to
            {
                CommandEventArgs ev = new CommandEventArgs(iNodeId.ToString(), null);
                NodeSelectionChanged(this, ev);
            }
        }

The code in the presenter for the grid that is listening for this NodeSelectionChanged event fired by the controller is:

public override void OnViewLoaded()
        {
            // Implement code that will be executed every time the view loads
            _controller.NodeSelectionChanged += new CommandEventHandler(Controller_NodeSelectionChanged);