Is it possible to inject Web Pages into a Web Site via a Module?

Topics: User Forum
Aug 21, 2008 at 2:32 PM
According to the Modularity Guidance documentation, the answer to the question is yes.

Modularity
is the ability to create rich Web client applications from discrete functional units named modules. A module represents a set of related concerns. It can include entities such as Web pages, business logic, page flows, and pieces of the Web infrastructure, such as the ability to log events or authenticate users. Each module is functionally complete and can communicate with other modules to create a complete application.

I am new to the Web Client Software Factory, but I have been working with the Smart Client Software Factory for some time.  In SCSF, I can create a module as an autonomous unit.  I never need to even have a reference to the Shell application to write it.  I can hand off my module and it can be plugged into the Shell without me having ever seen the Shell.  Additionally, I can deploy the SmartClient with only certain modules, or deploy it with all of them and only load certain modules based on user credentials/roles.

The documentation for WCSF leads me to believe the same thing is achievable, but my limited experience is telling me otherwise.

When adding a Web Page (With Presenter) using the Guidance Package, an interface for the view as well as a presenter are added to the module.  Additionally, a web page is added to a corresponding location in the web site itself.   Since the Web Page is added directly to the Web Site, and does not reside in the Module next to it's presenter and interface the Module is no longer an autonomous unit. 

I am hoping to find a way to house the ASPX pages within the modules themselves, then inject them into the web site somehow.

Aug 21, 2008 at 4:19 PM
I hope someone can provide an answer as that's a question I was asking myself when we started the current project.