Presenter not instantiated from ObjectBuilder

Topics: User Forum
Apr 25, 2008 at 1:30 PM
Hi, i am relatively new to implementing web apps with the web client software factory. I am developing an application that makes extensive use of ASP.NET personalization block as well as AJAX Control toolkig and would like to make it more modular, follow the MVP patter and use the PageFlow block from the web client software factory. Unfortunately I am stuck on my first view with presenter. The issue is that when the view is requested, i get a NullReferenceException in the PageLoad event because the presenter instance is null. Here is the scenario:
I have extended the WebClientApplicaiton class in order to make some validation check for certain Application scoped values. I have overriden the ApplicationStart method to fetch some data and then call the base implementation. In addition there is an Application_BeginRequest event handler where i do the check and if it fails i forward to a certain page by invoking the Server.Transfer() method. But the request fails with the given exception. The view is addded with the recipe Add view (with presenter). I am using the May 2007 release with VS 2005. The web.config file includes the configuration for the module with the presenter. The view itself is placed in a subfolder callsed Admin. the virtual paths attrubute of the module element is set to point to this folder.
Can someone please give me some hint of what am I doing wrong.
Thank you in advance!
Coordinator
Apr 25, 2008 at 3:32 PM
Make sure that the first thing you do in those over-ridden methods is call the base version. There is a lot of magic that happens in application start.

Michael Puleio - patterns & practices
Bloghttp://blogs.msdn.com/mpuleio/
Apr 25, 2008 at 5:28 PM
Hi,