UserControl used across business modules

Topics: Web Client Software Factory
Jan 12, 2008 at 7:00 AM
Edited Jan 12, 2008 at 1:32 PM
Hi,
I'm a newbie for websf and would like to check out something.

I have created several business modules, namely Customers and Vendors modules.

Now I wish to design a "item form" user control (for general use) which will be used in the Customers and Vendors modules.
Where shall I add this new user control so that all other modules can use it? e.g.DevelopmentWebsite?

I tried adding usercontrol at developmentWebsite and drap and drop it in another business module's aspx form, the browser shows "Exception Details: System.MemberAccessException: Cannot create an abstract class."

I would like to find out the best place to handle these general functionalities such as my "Item Form" user control which i want it to be used across modules.

Thanks in advance,
Fang
Jan 12, 2008 at 8:06 PM
Please take a look at the Responsive Composite Web Client Reference Implementation.
One of the things covered in this application is:

Page composition: Creating composite Page Views that contain multiple User Control Views. The User Controls can be used across modules and can be independently developed, tested, versioned, and deployed.

Mariano Szklanny
http://staff.southworks.net/mariano
Jan 13, 2008 at 12:27 PM
Edited Jan 13, 2008 at 3:33 PM
Hi,

I have the same question.
I studied the above mentioned "Responsive Composite Web Client Reference Implementation" bundle (and a few others).
Although the documentation of this bundle says: "The User Controls can be used across modules and can be independently developed, tested, versioned, and deployed", i didn't find a usercontrol in the DevelopmentWebsite that was shared among the two modules Orders and Customers.

I will further describe the challenge i'm currently facing.

I have a module Companies and a module Contacts.
Both modules (also entities) have the requirement that Addresses can be added.