Changing the name of the DevelopmentWebsite

Sep 11, 2007 at 9:54 PM
I am new to the WCSF and the CWAB, and I have created a WCSF project. I want to be able to change the name of the website that was initially created, and subsequently the folder in which it is stored, from DevelopmentWebsite to MyWebsite. Is this possible, and if so, how is it done?

Thanks in advance,
Mark
Sep 11, 2007 at 10:34 PM
Edited Sep 11, 2007 at 10:37 PM
Hi Mark,
You should be able to just rename the folder without any issues. (the Website in VS corresponds to the folder name) Use explorer and rename, then in VS file->open website browse to the renamed folder. Guidance should still run fine. I am doing this now and it works... cant remember if I had any initial problems, so Im going with I didnt :)

(You may want to create a test project and give it a try)

Jarod Ferguson
Sep 12, 2007 at 2:58 PM
Hi Jarod,

I tried renaming the folder in Explorer, and when I tried to load the original solution, it gave an error:

"
One or more projects in the solution could not be loaded for the following reason(s):
The project or web has been moved, renamed, or is not on your computer.
These projects will be labeled as unavailable in Solution Explorer. Expand the project node to show the reason the project could not be loaded.
"

In the solution explorer, it says (unavailable) beside the old website name, and below it says "The project or web cannot be found"

This was to be expected. So, I right click on Websites, and click Add... Existing WebSite and point it to the renamed folder.

When I try to debug (f5), it comes up with another error:

"
A project with an Output Type of Class Library cannot be started directly.

In order to debug this project, add an executable project to this solution which references the library project. Set the executable project as the startup project.
"
So then I right click on the renamed website, and click on "set as startup project" and try to debug again (f5).