Passing Model Information between pages

Topics: Web Client Software Factory, User Forum
Oct 28, 2007 at 11:17 PM
Team,
I am new to WCSF and I have a question on managing some user information in session state. In the application I am developing I not using the pageflow application block. Entire page navigation is controlled by the respective controllers injected into the active presenters. The question I have are:

1) When I move from one page to another, what is the best way to pass the required information from page 1 to page 2. I am collecting these information in a Model and I am wondering how to pass this to the next page. Should I manage this information in current session and load the same information in the page_load event of the second page? Or is there a better way to manage this challenge. I looked through the RI's and none of them seem to use session to pass data between pages. I read some challenges this will add in to testability.

In my case, the scenario is like this, I capture the personal Info in page 1, add that in to a model and then I move to page 2 where I capture the spouse information, then all the kids in household. Once all tabs/pages are filled in the data needs to be persisted in DB. Other than using session and page flow store is there a better way to pass the model information. If I need to use session, is there any best practice that can be followed under the umbrella of WCSF.

Please share any thoughts or ideas that can help me.
Thanks
SKR
Oct 29, 2007 at 6:38 AM
Edited Oct 29, 2007 at 6:38 AM
Hi SKR

WIth PageFlow you can actually store your model data in the flow. It will automatically serialize along iwth the PageFlow itself and thus be available throughout the pages within the flow. To do this store your model by accessing the UserData Collection on the PageFlow itself. Below is a snippet from our PageFlowWIthShoppingCart Quick start.

public class StoreController
    {
        private IPageFlowProvider _pageFlowProvider;