How to get the sitemapprovider/menu to work

Topics: Web Client Software Factory, Project Management Forum, UIP Application Block discussion, User Forum
Jun 26, 2007 at 12:58 PM
Hi!
I am a newbie to WCSF and am struggling with getting the grasp of all of it. I really miss a lot of hands-on examples of implementations. I hope this will be available when the product is really taking off.

Here is my problem:

I have a web using windowsauthorization. Based on the users group membership, I want to adjust the navigation menu located in the master page.(There is an Admin entry which should be invisible unless you're member of a special group). I am quite confused about how this is done. I thought I had to write code to check with AD but have been told that this is premade and presented by objects.

I have also a notion that the main config.web should be edited and also the web.config of the Admin UI. Do I also have to fiddle around with the Admin module (AdminController.cs / AdminModuleInitializer.cs)?

I'll be happy for any comment and hope that someone will point me in the right direction.

:-))
Dec 13, 2007 at 7:37 PM
Hi.

• First, you must define the authorization rules for your application in the securityConfiguration section of your application configuration file:
<securityConfiguration defaultAuthorizationInstance="RuleProvider" defaultSecurityCacheInstance="">
     <authorizationProviders>
          <add type="Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Security.AuthorizationRuleProvider, Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Security, Version=3.1.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a" name="RuleProvider">
               <rules>
                    <add expression="R:Administrator" name="AllowAccessTransfers" />
               </rules>
          </add>
     </authorizationProviders>
</securityConfiguration>